Filter Widget not searching "Keywords"

Homepage Forums WP Travel Pro Filter Widget not searching "Keywords"

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #24332
    okeefe
    Participant

    The WP Travel Filters Widget seems to only be searching the Title of the trips when searching by Keyword, instead of also including the travel_keywords taxonomy in its search.

    For example, currently when a user searches for “Natural Park” in the Keyword field of the widget, only trips with “Natural Park” in the title are being returned, and not any of the trips with “Natural Park” or “Natural Parks” keyword taxonomy attached to it.

    Is there a way to fix this in the plugin/theme settings or in the code?

    #24346
    Support Team
    Keymaster

    Hello,

    Actually, the keyword used in WP Travel Filters Widget to search the trip is the keyword that has been assigned to the trip.

    https://prnt.sc/raoyww

    You can add the keyword that is most searchable following the path Admin Panel > Trips > Keywords. Also, you will be more clear referring the screenshot given below:

    https://prnt.sc/raomo0

    Also, you can add keywords from the individual trip page(edited) as the screenshot given below:

    https://prnt.sc/raotxt

    For detail assistance regarding WP Travel Filter Widget, please refer to the link below:

    https://wptravel.io/documentations/user-documentation/#doc-widget-42

    Hope this helps.

    If you have further queries, let us know.

    Thank you.

    #24358
    okeefe
    Participant

    I really don’t think it is searching the Keyword. Here are some screenshots to prove it:

    Inside the admin, when editing the trip:

    http://blacktietravel.com/support-help-1.jpg

    As you can see, since “National Parks” is present in the trip type AND keywords, it should show up when searched. Alas, only “National Park” gets returned when searched, because it is only checking trip Title and Content. Here’s another example of what I’m talking about:

    http://blacktietravel.com/support-help-2.jpg

    This post also ONLY shows up when “Natural Park” is searched, not when “Natural Parks” is searched. As you can see, “Natural Parks” is present in the Keywords and the Trip Types, but is not present in the Title or Content. “National Park” IS in the content, which is the only reason it is showing up when I search the singular version of “National Park”.

    Here are 2 more screenshots, to show the search is behaving as I described:

    http://blacktietravel.com/support-help-3.jpg

    http://blacktietravel.com/support-help-4.jpg

    Please advise. Thanks.

    #24374
    Support Team
    Keymaster

    Hello,

    Actually, everything is working fine regarding searching for trips using the keyword.

    But the issue you have reported has been raised due to the keyword you have used for the trip i.e National Park. You have to use a single word as a keyword for the trip. The feature to add keyword with white space(National Park) is not available for now. So, please use a single word keyword for the trip and verify the issue.

    If the issue still persist, let us know.

    Thank you.

    #24496
    okeefe
    Participant

    The issue still persists. I have gone and modified the tags to not contain white spaces, but the search is still failing. See the screenshots below:

    http://blacktietravel.com/support-help-5.jpg

    http://blacktietravel.com/support-help-6.jpg

    As you can see, NaturalParks and NaturalPark have both been made a 1-word tags in the back-end, but when searching “National Parks” in the front-end search it still doesn’t get returned.

    We can deal with having no-whitespaces in the backend keywords, but expecting the users to have to search “NationalParks” with no white spaces is simply un-intuitive and no user is going to realize they have to search that way.

    We are going to need to find a solution for this. Any UX designer worth their salt would consider this widget broken, and we can’t accept “don’t use whitespaces” as an answer.

    #24511
    wensolutions
    Keymaster

    Hello @okeefe,

    We would like to apologize for the trouble.

    Regarding your second query, in the screenshot, you can see the keyword has the white space so it is raising the issue. You have changed the keyword in backed but while searching you have used the keyword with the white space.

    So make sure you searched using the correct keyword so that you will get the correct search result.

    Let us know if that works or not?

    Thank you.

    #24519
    okeefe
    Participant

    Yes, I am searching with a white-space because EVERY user is going to put a space in-between the words when they’re searching. Using spaces is normal user behavior (AsPeopleDontNormallyWantToTypeWithoutSpaces… see?) and I consider this plugin VERY broken if it is not accepting White Spaces in the search.

    So when you say “Actually, everything is working fine regarding searching for trips using the keyword”, you are telling me that you guys consider a broken search widget acceptable for a production website? When people buy a plugin or theme, they expect that all the advertised functionality will ACTUALLY WORK.

    We need a solution for this search issue. If you can tell me where in the code I can make edits to your incomplete Search function, that would at least be a start.

    Thanks.

    #24531
    wensolutions
    Keymaster

    Hello @okeefe,

    Yes, the user may search the keyword as you have mentioned but as for now the plugin does not allow the white space.

    However, we will make the enhancements on this and release the update soon. We will let you know once we fix the issue.

    Hoping for your kind co-operations.

    Thank you.

    #25063
    okeefe
    Participant

    Hello. We noticed you have released an update to the plugin. We have updated to the latest version, and have some updates to this Support Case.

    First off, thanks for trying to address this concern. After updating to the latest version, I can confirm that it is nearly fully functional.

    Whatever fix you put in works on the side widget search: http://blacktietravel.com/support-help-7.jpg

    However it does not work when searching the same thing into the Home Page search: http://blacktietravel.com/support-help-8.jpg

    Submitting the Home Page search with “National Parks” it will return the “No trips found” screen, even tho the side widget does not: http://blacktietravel.com/support-help-9.jpg

    Thanks for doing your best to address the issue. Once this final bug is fixed, then our support ticket here is done!

    #25071
    Support Team
    Keymaster

    Hello,

    Regarding your query, we have also fixed the issue of the keyword searchable in the WP Travel search widget and everything is working fine on our side as you can see in the screen record given below:

    https://www.loom.com/share/399cce44442743b489639b24f5bb7618

    So, once verify the issue by uninstalling and replacing by installing the WP Travel Pro with the recent version.

    Hope this helps.

    If you have further queries, let us know.

    Thank you.

    #25082
    okeefe
    Participant

    Hello. We tried reinstalling the plugin, but that did not change the behavior.

    I do not believe that the home search widget and the sidenav search widget are using the same Search code, and thus the bug you fixed for the sidenav search has not been implemented into the home search.

    My reason for this belief is what I see when I inspect the URL after running the search.

    URL after search from Home Widget: https://blacktietravel.com/?post_type=itineraries&s=national+parks&itinerary_types=0&travel_locations=0&wp-travel_search=Search

    URL after search from Side Widget: https://blacktietravel.com/index.php/itinerary/?keyword=natural%20parks&itinerary_types=&travel_locations=&view_mode=grid

    As you can see, they are both not submitting the same set of parameters, and thus I believe they are not using the same code base.

    Can you please apply whatever fix you made to the Side Widget search to the Home Search, so that it properly return the keywords as well.

    Thanks.

    #25115
    Support Team
    Keymaster

    Hello,

    Regarding your query, we are inspecting issues that you mentioned and we will get back to you soon after further inspecting.

    Regards.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.